Wednesday, 20 February 2013

THE BOOK OF THE FORSAKEN by Yannis Karatsioris

If you ask me, “What’s the most original fantasy you have ever read?” I will not even have to think, because the answer is: “The Book of the Forsaken” by Yannis Karatsioris. It’s the first book in “The Game” Series, and I’ve been lucky to read it when it was on its way to the top of chart. If you love Fantasy, “The Book of the Forsaken” by Mr. Karatsioris is for you. If you love books with a unique voice, do not miss the chance to read this one.

The Book of the Forsaken
(The Game Series, Book #1)
by Yannis Karatsioris

A sarcastic storyteller traps three characters in his web in order to get hold of a special book. Daniel, Cassidy and Igor are three unique individuals, considered outcasts for different reasons. They are about to meet and stick together, as coincidences and forced situations lead them to a journey all around Europe. As everyone is after the Book of the Forsaken, the coming Game is about to take place on the dark side of the moon. But there is a cost to that knowledge. Let alone to the wish to partake.

a few words from the author: “What I tried to do here is write the story in 3rd person unlimited, which in the process is transformed into 1st person unlimited. It is 3rd person POV “included” in 1st person POV. All this wrapped up in witty storytelling and original ideas about old gods, vampires and werewolves (and the rest of them really).”


 HarperCollins Wrote:
“The text is engaging and the story is highly original. … Although unusual and definitely niche, I do feel that there is a market for this kind of book and the fact that this is a series would definitely be attractive to publishers who would see an opportunity to recruit fans over a long period.”

 Mary Fan wrote:
Yannis keeps his writing crisp and to-the-point, wasting no words on flowery descriptions or lengthy monologues. The sparseness of the sentences coupled with the vividly imagined fantastical elements makes The Book of the Forsaken an exciting and fast-paced read.

 Lambert Nagle wrote:
Slick and sophisticated, witty and highly imaginative.



The Abyss Wars Saga (Book 1)

The Ten Arcane Traditions of the northern lands of Arnath gather to face an enemy moving in the shadows for thousands of years.

The One Council is being summoned once again long after its last appearance. Six sentient ones, who serve the purpose of the One Council, take on responsibilities that lead them to the eye of the cyclone of the war raging in every part of the north.

Imprisoned spirits, corrupt governments, dark assistants and powerful allies that turn into traitors: all force their way into the lives of the six mages, in a time when the world is the stake and results do matter.

a few words from the author: “In the beginning, it’s going to be one of the most burdening epic fantasies. It is a drag, a slow drag that will pick up when you least expect it (and most want it) and lead you in twisted ups and downs to an inspiring end. You will want more of the world of Arnath if you give the beginning a shot.”

About the author

Yannis Karatsioris, Greek born and raised, is 29 years old and lives in Athens, Greece. He has already staged a play, published a fantasy novel in Greek and, after winning with The Book of the Forsaken the gold medal on HarperCollins’ competition on, is now making his first steps in the publishing world out of Greece.
His tastes, dark and sarcastic, guide him to a style reminiscent of Neil Gaiman, Douglas Adams, Jonathan Stroud and Mikhail Bulgakov.

Visit Yannis’ Website Here:

No comments:

Post a Comment